Being that my German getaway had me in the heart of Bavaria, this put me at the disposal of many beautiful, storybook German towns, many being a feast for the eyes. One of these, Rothenburg ob der Tauber, is one of the most sought after tourist destinations in Bavarian Germany.

Enchanting Rothenburg...

A largely preserved medieval town, Rothenburg wears its age well. Once home to the Counts of Rothenburg, the earliest recording of the city was in the middle 10th century. Like most medieval cities in Germany, Rothenburg is encased in a city wall with several towers. Driving within the city is kept to a minimum; everyone walks. It’s a place of beauty, charm, and quite whimsical in character. From the cobblestoned streets and the quaint, antique nature of the town, it has the power to take you to another place in time…

The city is situated on the Romantische Straße (Romantic Road) in Bavaria, a medieval route stretching through the Bavarian countryside stretching from Würzburg, Augsburg, Rothenburg, Dinkelsbühl, down to Füssen, near the infamous Neuschwanstein Schloss. The route is aptly named for its picturesque German towns and beautiful countryside.

The Rathaus

The Rathaus

At the city center of Rothenburg stands the Rathaus (government building), built in the 12th century, clock tower and numerous cafes.

Rothenburg city center

As noted in previous posts, the Germans love the outdoors, welcoming any opportunity for sunshine. I just loved that. I thought to myself, there’s people back home in my native Florida that live next to the beach and barely take advantage of that, and these people are sitting out in 50 degree weather sipping coffee- brilliant! The Germans know how to appreciate a beautiful day, as do I. Prost!

Java lovers...

From the city center, Katja, Daniel and I made our way to the Burg tower and castle garden. This tower is the only reminder of where Rothenburg castle once stood until it crumbled to the ground following an earthquake in 1356. Slightly elevated, the castle gardens overlooked the Tauber river and some of Rothenburg. Was beautiful…

View from atop the castle gardens...

Yes, I had to succumb to my inner tourist and plant myself on the medieval garden wall and snap a pic.

Aber, hallo!

The Burg tower was important in the protection of Rothenburg castle. The tower features two round guard houses, where guardsmen would sit in anticipation of the enemy arrival by greeting them with hot tar. Those medieval people didn’t mess around!

Me & the Burg tower

The town definitely was quintessential German. Almost every building flaunted bright paint, cheery storefronts, welcoming open doors, windows adorned with flower boxes, and a clean exterior. I loved this place, it seemed almost as if it belonged at Disney or something, with its storybook quality. But even better, I wasn’t at Disney staring at some replica of a German town, here I was, in the middle of the real thing.

Wonderfully preserved buildings...

Bright colors...

A flower brightens anyone's day...

Rothenburg, like many German cities had a lot of pride, it was evident in how they kept up their city. Beautiful, quaint, preserved and clean. There was an evident respect for nature in Germany. Although I’d only been in the country for a few days, I took note of how litter-free the place was. And there was a place for recycling everywhere. They didn’t just have trashcans like we do in the states, they were labeled Plastic, Glass and Paper. In the states, we were really behind, too many people not taking note to how they dispose of their trash.

Katja, Daniel and I decided it was time for a coffee break and not to forget, the occasional sweet…

Schneeballen (snow balls)

Schneeballen is a Rothenburg specialty but you could also get these at many other places in Germany. Katja went jumping for joy when she saw these. There was a large assortment, you could get anything from chocolate covered, powdered sugar, coconut, cinnamon, you name it. Mmmm, es war lecker…

After devouring our sugar bomb pastry, we all headed to the old town wall.

View from city wall...

Badly damaged from bombing in World War II, much of the wall has been reconstructed thanks to donations from all over the world to help preserve Rothenburg’s rich medieval heritage. Our pathway in the wall took us to the outskirts of the heart of the city, but still, never a disappoint…

The epitome of medieval…

Walking along in Rothenburg, the place definitely had me under a spell. Every cobblestoned street I walked down, every building I had the pleasure of viewing, every minute detail of the city, had me in awe. It definitely lived up to its reputation as one of the top Bavarian tourist destinations. Aside from the strong medieval influence throughout the city, Rothenburg was is also a hot topic among romantics. It’s the site of many weddings and honeymoons every year. There were even horse drawn carriages for lovers! I had to stop and say hello…

Friendly...

Closing in on the evening, Daniel, Katja and I headed back to the car. I couldn’t keep my head from turning, savoring one last view of it. The quintessential Germany, captured in one, small medieval town. Rothenburg, I heart you.


