There’s something that sets the mind at ease when the words ‘beach’, ‘water’ and ‘sun’ come into view.  I’ve always enjoyed doing beach shoots, to be at the edge of the ocean, showcasing it’s extravagant beauty while still captivating the camera as a model. One advantage of moving to Florida is dispensing myself at the hands of many scenic inter coastal waterways and oceanfronts…

 

Not just in one beach shoot, but all my beach shoots, I wanted the photographer to capture the surroundings; the tawny, crystallized sand, the bright blue sky, and the relentless wash of waves upon the coast. To have a successful photo shoot depends on the model, what kind of message she wants to convey, but also the photographer, and his efforts to capture the essence of the moment.

Mike & Lauren are good friends of mine. They’re a husband and wife photography team. I’ve worked with them on various shoots in and around Orlando. Sometimes they like to use me to add to their portfolio, which, in the industry, is called a ‘trade for print’. Instead of charging money, you exchange time and talents, and everybody is equally happy. You get exposure, they get exposure.

One of my favorite areas to shoot is in Ponce Inlet. I love the underdeveloped, rural simplicity of the area. Aside from the typical beach front condominiums and homes, the beach itself is a serene, hidden secret. Unlike Daytona beach, Ponce Inlet isn’t heavily traveled by tourists, making it a more ‘under the radar’ beach. It’s a gem for people like me, who enjoy the solitude of a quiet beach.

Ponce Inlet is a good location for any shoot, whether it’s swim wear, engagement sessions, weddings, or family portraits.  There’s a section of the beach I particularly love. It boasts hundreds of rocks, with fossilized shells attached, providing a beautiful landscape background…

While some models might think it’s a bit cliché, for beach shoots, I never tire of the lifeguard stand. It adds that nice pop of color, especially if you’ve got a good photographer with mad photo editing skills.

One of my favorites

Introspective attitude...

 

