I’ve always loved art.  From an early age, my mom recorded moments of me always carrying a pad of paper with some drawing utensils.  Every car ride, I had to have something  in my hands to keep my attention diverted from the sometimes lengthy trip.

I thoroughly enjoyed art class in school.  It was like my play time, my mental break from the responsibilities of academia.  Stretching back as far as elementary school, I exhibited extra dexterity when it came to the talents of my hands.  Whether the task at hand was drawing, painting, paper mache or clay, how to accomplish that task was never difficult for me.  While some of the other kids in class would sit there and stare lifelessly into their blank sketch  paper, I was already going to town, letting my imagination flood out onto the paper.  Over the years I won art awards in elementary, middle and high school.  My works were collected on shelves and mantles throughout my parents’ home.

The thing I admire most about art is that there is literally no limits.  In life, there are limits. Restrictions. Detours.  Do not enter signs.  It is a person’s natural curiosity that presses them to challenge these roadblocks. Deep down in every person there’s a part that incessantly cries for freedom, a freedom to express. Art creates a setting in the mind where one can just, be.  It doesn’t have to be right, wrong, left, right, or even make sense.  Whatever you create is a reflection of what you were feeling that day, week or month.  Its a manifestation of your deepest emotions.

Now that I’m 26, out on my own and smothered by the responsibilities of life (bills, work and school), I’ve somewhat neglected my creative muse.  At times I fall into a sedentary creative rut. It’s so easy to get caught up in the fast forward way of life.  Sometimes things move too fast, the day is too short, people and things go unnoticed.  I don’t like that.  But still, there’s times where I come home, sit down, let my mind wander and let my hands do the talking…

My Christmas tree cones

Detail...

I especially like to create things on a rainy day.  I’m not one who likes to hibernate in the house all day, but if it’s a rainy cold one, why not?  Michael’s is a store I go crazy in.  I’ll go in there intending to buy only one thing and come out with ten.  It’s like speed for crafters.  Dangerous but oh-so-tempting.

Below is a Greek vase I created for a mythology class in college a few years back.  As part of the final project we had to depict a myth on the vase, just as the ancient Greeks did.  I illustrated the myth of Athena and Arachne, the weaving contest and how ultimately, Athena is transformed into a spider.

Greek vase

Below was an in-school publication of select students’ poetry and artwork that won a spot in the book.  All the students in the art classes created their own cover design. These designs were judged by the art teachers; the winner ultimately got to see their design on the cover of the publication. I created one modeled after the ancient Egyptian queen Nefertiti.  I chose her because I admired her physical attributes; her elongated neck adorned with royal jewelry, her elaborate headpiece, her seemingly apathetic but beautiful facial expression…The design had a few artistic requirements; it had to be ink, and constructed in all dots, excluding the background.  The shading had to be graduated by dots.  Very time consuming indeed, but was worth it when you sat and looked at the finished product.  I incorporated hieroglyphics into the design to keep in tune with the authentic Egyptian feel.

After a week long deliberation, the judges came into my art class and announced the runners up. I sat there looking down at the table, nervously fiddling my thumbs.  I knew my cover was good, but my humble attitude prevented me from expecting a winning spot. Three other students stood up in front of the class, then they called my name.  What?! Me? I stood there nervously with the others and as the judges pulled the winning cover design out of a manila folder, I saw it was mine.  I was the winner. Ha, so much for the humble attitude.  Maybe I should own up to my artistic awesomeness a little more…

