This weekend I went to the Gaylord Palms resort in Orlando to check out their annual Ice show.  Being from up north originally, the thought of people actually paying money to see snow and ice amused me.  But nevertheless, I’ve been in Florida for four years now, so I thought, okay I’ll anonymously throw myself into the “I paid to see snow” bucket.  The patrons were provided parkas to help insulate themselves in the bitter 9 degrees temperature inside.  After a short welcome message from a computerized Santa Claus on a projection screen, we all went into the chilled ice venue…

I was immediately attracted to the colors of the ice, it reminded me of the board game Candyland.  The talent of these ice sculptors was superb, I was in sheer amazement of their creations.  Beautiful, to sum it up in one word.

Gaylord Palms ice show

Ice candle

Ice fireplace

Ice snowmen

One of my favorite ice displays

Ice village

Loved the colors of the ice...

As I turned the corner, I was greeted by Santa Claus and his reindeer…I stood there and gawked at the artwork as I bit my fingers, trying to keep them warm.

Santa Claus

Reindeer

As I walked through the show looking at the displays, I couldn’t help but notice how cool the architecture of the show was; admiring the tunnels, archways and hallways all strictly made of ice.

Ice archway

Ice tunnel

Santa sliding down the ice tunnel

Ice block detail

Nearing the end of the ice show, the true gem of the show was a beautiful display of the biblical story of Jesus, complete with the three wise men and various cattle surrounding the virgin Mary, Jesus and Joseph. I’m not the most religious person in the world, but I still appreciated the intricate artwork and attention to detail on all the figures depicted.

Depicting the birth of Jesus

One of the 3 wise men

Virgin Mary & baby Jesus

Lamb

Goat

Cattle surrounding the nativity scene

Me in front of nativity scene; yes it was very cold in there!

I liked this friendly little Christmas sculpture near the exit door…

Merry Christmas

