When people ask me who some of my favorite singers and bands are, most of the time my response is, “Ah, probably no one you would know.”  I say this because, I don’t listen to a lot of Top 40,  adult contemporary, boy bands or Britney Spears.  My taste in music could be defined as left-of-center, eclectic, a little more underground and indie; more…undiscovered music.

My taste in music differed from many of the other students in middle and high school.  While the other girls were jamming out to Backstreet Boys and Nsync and drooling over the boy band posters in their lockers, I didn’t own one boy band CD, let alone a poster.  And I wasn’t ashamed of that, I just found their music so, conventional; so unoriginal.  Every song was about a girl they loved or a girl they wanted back, and all the songs seemed to have that same poppy, bubblegum beat. Ugh, next……

I was more into stuff with a catchy beat, something I could move to.  I liked the Chemical brothers, Ace of Base, Aaliyah, Blink-182 and a lot of 80’s tunes.  New Order, Duran Duran and Janet Jackson to name a few.

Fast Forward to current day.  While I’m not one to place a lot of value on possessions, I will say the one thing I absolutely love is Sirius satellite radio.  I’ve had it in my car for a few years now, and I will never go back to regular radio.  It’s a god-send.  Free from the endless commercials and loud advertisements you hear on regular radio, the one thing I love about Sirius is they stay true to the one thing radio was invented for, the music!  There’s hundreds of channels ranging from Dance and House, to Blues, Classical, Rock, Top 40, Indie, Downbeat/Trip-hop…they even have a Sinatra channel (one of my favorites).  There’s something for everybody.  I credit Sirius for introducing me to many of my favorite artists today.

I think you can tell a lot about a person from the  music they listen to.  Favorite songs speak to us in many ways, they may relate to us, call out to us, or evoke a certain emotion, whether that be melancholy, joyful, or angry.

Some of my favorite artists are below…

Bjork

Bjork

I love Bjork for her dreamy soundscapes she provides while having an ever present electronic undertone to her music.  I love her artistic innovation in her music and her sound is definitely not one that can be duplicated, effortlessly original.  My favorite songs: “Army of Me”, “Venus as a boy”, “All is full of love”, “Human Behavior”, “Joga”, “Hunter” and  “Hidden Place”.
M.I.A

M.I.A

I love M.I.A for her outspoken vocals when it comes to global issues such as political violence, ethnic conflict, sex trafficking, world hunger/poverty, gender and sexual stereotypes, money laundering and government scandals, among others.  Her musical sound is not like anything I’ve ever heard before,  she has an electronic sound mixed with world beats, some mild rapping and reggae. In short: amazing stuff.  My favorite songs: “Boyz”,  “20 dollar”, “Galang”, “Paper Planes” and “Born Free”.
Bitter:sweet

Bitter:sweet

Bitter:sweet’s music conjures up images of women in long evening dresses sipping on martinis by moonlight, on some rooftop in the city.  Their music is whimsical and witty, with a strong lounge feel to it. I love lead singer Shana’s soft, sultry voice. My favorite songs: “Overdue”, “Dirty Laundry”, “Bittersweet Faith”, “Don’t forget to breathe” and “Drink you sober”.
The White Stripes

The White Stripes

I’ve always loved this band.  There’s just something so catchy about their garage rock revival, with distinct guitar riffs and occasional piano in the background.  I like how they incorporated blues, punk and rock and out of that a beautiful garage rock band was born. I’ve listened to these songs over and over again…”The Denial twist”, “Blue Orchid”, “Doorbell”, “Girl, you have no faith in medicine”, “Seven nation army”, “The hardest button to button” and “You don’t know what love is (you just do what you’re told)”.

Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga

Okay, where should I start? I love her uninhibited nature when it comes to sensuality and sexuality. I love her erratic costumes and crazy hair and makeup.  I love that she does whatever the hell she wants.  I love that she thinks outside the box. Plus, she’s got a powerful, spellbinding voice.  My favorites: “Alejandro”, “Paparazzi”, “So happy I could die”, “Bad Romance”  and “Poker Face”.
Lily Allen

Lily Allen

Love her upbeat songs with an electronic, poppy tone.  Her dirty mouth is showcased in many of her songs, talking about men who have done her wrong and stupid girls. But there’s something admirable about a woman who can curse throughout lyrics but do it with a soft, pleasant voice; almost as if she’s telling you softly, “Piss off, douchebag…oh, and have a nice day.” My favorite songs are “Smile”, “LDN”, “The Fear” and “Not Big”.

The Raveonettes

The Raveonettes

I was attracted to this band’s sound, a retro throwback to 60’s rock mixed with electronic undertones and a dark, melancholic feel. “I wanna be adored”, “Young and Beautiful”, “Suicide” and “Aly walk with me” are all amazing songs.

The Yeah Yeah Yeah’s

Yeah Yeah Yeah's

Always loved this band.  Their sound is punk rock attitude mixed with a bit of new wave, with catchy dance floor beats.  Lead singer Karen O is unpredictable in her songs, going from soft whispering to frustrated, high pitched screams in the next lyric. “Dragon Queen”, “Zero”, “Soft Shock”, “Gold Lion”, and “Heads will Roll” are among my favorite tunes.

Emilie Simon

Emilie Simon

I stumbled upon this amazing French artist one night on iTunes.  While most of her songs are in French there are a few that are in English, although I think the French recordings are much more beautiful to listen to.  Her sound could be described as downbeat electronic mixed with lounge.  She has a distinct baby-like voice, with a profound innocent quality captured in a lot of her songs. My favorite songs by her are “Desert”, “Flowers” and “Dame de Lotus”.

Passion Pit

Passion Pit

This all male band is a compilation of indie rock, electronica, pop, dance floor beats and good lyrics.  It’s almost impossible to listen to their music and not want to get up and dance.  I have yet to find another band comparable to them because they’re definitely in their own category.  “The Reeling”, “Seaweed Song” , “Sleepyhead” and “Little Secrets” are all good tunes.

Vampire Weekend

Vampire Weekend

I love their sound,  alternative with an Indie rock influence and always a catchy but mellow beat to their songs.  I listen to the following songs frequently: “A-Punk”, “Cousins”, “Giving up the gun”, “Diplomat’s Son”, “Run” and “Holiday”.

Goldfrapp

Goldfrapp

Hands down, one of my all-time favorite artists.  The band is named after the lead singer Alison Goldfrapp.  Their sound is distinct, a mix of electronica and dance floor beats with an ambient mood.  Alison’s voice is enchanting as well as eerie, she does a lot of mellow, lush cooing but also has a melancholy, almost haunting cry out loud on some songs. There’s no way someone can listen to their music and not appreciate their musical style.  Just brilliant.  My favorite songs: “Time out from the world”, “Beautiful”, “Satin Chic”, “Number 1”, “Strict machine”, “Hairy Trees”, “Black Cherry”, “Deep honey”, “Ooh la la”, “Ride a white horse”, “Koko” and “Slide in”.
______________________________
OTHER NOTABLE FAVORITES:
-Air
-Incubus
-Gwen Stefani
-Deftones
-Alicia Keys
-Franz Ferdinand
-The Kooks
-Broken Social Scene
-Lemongrass
-Kaiser Chiefs
-Portishead
-Kate Nash
-Norah Jones
-Yelle
-Sleigh Bells
-Best Coast
-The Radio Dept.
-The Bravery
-Phoenix
-Coldplay
-Junior boys
-Blonde Redhead
-Deerhunter
-Beck
-Kaskade
-The Strokes
-Madonna
-The Cribs
-311
-Rihanna
-Spoon
-Weezer
